Queen of West Procrastination is at the opposite end of the same gut-wrenching process I just completed. Mind you, I’m already circling around for another pass – I am approaching the end of “early career researcher” eligibility and so I have the extra pressure of not wanting to miss the opportunity to be considered in that group. Not that I am sure there is any advantage in it – it’s a subset of the applicant pool competing for a subset of the funding pool, so it all depends on the relative size of those two things.

The question I keep returning to is how many papers I could manage to write in the time it will take to organise an application. My teaching and administrative loads are pretty much fixed, so an taking on a funding application means diverting time away from another research activity, family time, recreation, or sleep. And I like all of those things.

