Is it strange that I finding working through the night so invigorating? A couple of days ago, theses needed to be marked and the examiner’s reports written by 9 a.m. So, I napped from 9:30 the previous evening for an hour and a half, and then I got the work done between midnight and 7 o’clock.

Admittedly, I ran out of steam by mid-morning and went home shortly after lunch to have a nap, but while I was doing the job I didn’t feel fatigue at all. Even the next day, while I was aware that I wasn’t as efficient as usual, I still felt pretty good.

Contrast that with today, where I’ve been sitting in my office through the regular working day and I’m procrastinating, easily distracted, wandering the hallways, and generally failing to get as much done as I feel I could.

Maybe it’s the lack of any other available activity that lets me plunge headlong into work in the wee hours of the morning? I honestly don’t know, but it seems that whenever I am pressed to stay up all night I manage to get more done than I would have otherwise. Unfortunately, I can’t switch to a nocturnal pattern because we’re expected to be in the office during the day – to a greater extent than I like anyway, because I also feel that staying home often improves efficiency as well. But I’ll save that for another entry.

