January has not been a nice month.

Note to TLU: At some point, you have to stop accepting applications to the course I run. The deadline was months past, yet you keep taking more applications. Just last week, I received more of them to assess, despite the fact that I filled the course and nobody who applied since October has had any  chance of getting an offer.

I’d really like to set fire to the applications (after removing them from their cute plastic sleeves), but unfortunately I can’t. I still have to assess them so that more than 50% of the applicants can be told they are ineligible (usually due to a low GPA). Otherwise, they are all going to apply again in December 2007, and I expect I’ll have new late and ineligible applications to deal with.

I’m still in a place where I have been hiding from blogging, for several reasons. I am struggling to get moving with work and feel like I should not waste time reading or writing on blogs (as opposed to wasting time watching TV, drinking beer, spending time with family, and sleeping). Also, most of the work issues I have been dealing with (apart from the TLU admissions process) have been unbloggable. At the moment, I have colleagues who I want to strangle, colleagues who I want to hug, and colleagues who I want to go very far away from me.

However, things must change. I am going to institute a strict regimen of work activity and a corresponding flurry of blogging activity. As my daughter would say, “Seriously.”

This will all commence after today, which is Australia Day. Happy Birthday, Australia. I’ll spend a bit longer enjoying the Hottest 100, then I’ll be gearing up for a weekend of frantic effort to get back on track.

